Chicago Building Records logo — a record sheet with a mark struck across itChicago Building RecordsWhat the City's building records prove
Line illustration of a certificate posted behind a frame representing The elevator inspection
Records made when someone lookedSomebody attendedProves the work was inspected

The elevator inspection

Two routes, one requirement, and the privately filed inspections were done four times as often as the City's own.

What an elevator inspection record proves

An elevator inspection record in Chicago proves that a conveyance device — an elevator, escalator, lift or similar powered device that carries people or goods between levels — was inspected on a stated date, and it identifies which of two very different routes produced the inspection. That second detail carries more weight than readers expect, because the City's own auditors measured both routes and found them performing four times apart.

Unlike a permit inspection, this record is generated by a calendar. The requirement is annual, it attaches to the device rather than to any construction project, and nobody has to be building anything for it to fall due. That makes a gap in the sequence meaningful in a way a gap in permit inspections is not: when a record that should exist every year does not exist, something failed to happen.

What the record does not establish is condition today, and the interval is the reason. An annual inspection speaks to the device as the inspector found it, up to twelve months ago.

The two routes, and why the distinction matters

Chicago splits elevator inspection between City staff and the Annual Inspection Certification program, usually written AIC. Under that program the building owner engages a state-licensed, third-party inspection company and the results are filed electronically with the Department of Buildings.

The Department's page on required reporting for elevators and other conveyance devices describes the inspections as performed by private, state-licensed companies and does not mention City inspectors at all. It also records that the upgraded filing system allows quarterly due dates and supports multiple owners for a single device, which matters in buildings where a device serves units in separate ownership.

So the first question about an elevator record is who made it. A certification filing is a private professional's attestation, received by the City. A City inspection is the building official's own finding. The intuition that the second outranks the first is reasonable, widely held, and not supported by the only published measurement of the two.

The audit, and the number that reverses the intuition

On October 28, 2014 the City of Chicago Office of Inspector General published its Elevator Inspections Audit, covering annual inspections in calendar year 2013. It remains the most detailed published measurement of a Chicago recurring inspection program.

In 2013, 6,438 buildings required an annual elevator inspection. Of those, 5,059 — 78.6 percent — fell to Department staff, and 1,379 — 21.4 percent — were in the certification program. Completion ran:

  • Overall: 2,185 of 6,438 buildings inspected — 33.9 percent.
  • City staff route: 965 of 5,059 — 19.1 percent.
  • Certification program: 1,220 of 1,379 — 88.5 percent.

Across the buildings that went uninspected, the auditors counted 7,455 elevators in 4,094 buildings. Completed annual inspections had fallen 7.6 percent over three years, from 2,365 in 2010 to 2,185 in 2013, and the office estimated $772,040 in foregone inspection fees.

The pattern is consistent and counterintuitive: where the owner had to hire somebody and file something, it happened almost nine times in ten. Where the City was supposed to arrive, it mostly did not. At the time, the elevator inspection appropriation was about $1.3 million supporting 11 inspection staff, and the Department's own analysis said it needed six more inspectors to complete all annual inspections. See the audit for the full findings.

This is a 2014 document reporting on 2013. Whether completion rates have changed since could not be verified, and no later elevator audit was located. The figures are the best published evidence of how the two routes behave; they are not a current measurement.

What happens after an elevator violation

The audit's second finding concerns the follow-up, and it bears directly on how a reader should treat an open elevator violation.

Between January 2006 and March 2014 the Department recorded 20,104 elevator violations. Of those, 7,629 — 37.9 percent — had received a follow-up inspection. 12,475 — 62.1 percent — remained open as of March 2014. Where a violation was resolved, the median time to compliance was 173 days, against the Department's own 60-day standard.

Two readings follow. First, an open elevator violation in the public data is a weak signal about the present, because the follow-up that would close it frequently did not occur — the record may be open because nobody returned rather than because nothing was fixed. Second, a closed one records a follow-up that in the median case took nearly three times the Department's standard, which is information about the enforcement cycle rather than about the device.

The code numbering, and what cannot be said about it

The 2014 audit cites the annual inspection requirement at Section 13-20-100 of the Municipal Code, and the inspection fee range of $45 to $155 at Section 13-20-140(a). Both are pre-recodification citations, used in a document published in 2014.

Chicago adopted the Chicago Construction Codes in April 2019 and they became mandatory for most permit applications on August 1, 2020, with the construction provisions renumbered into Titles 14A, 14B, 14R and 14X. The Title 14 successors to those elevator sections could not be verified, and the mapping from old chapters to new ones is not something the Department's implementation materials set out. The numbers above are therefore reported as the 2014 audit used them, and should not be read as current section numbers.

The substance is on firmer ground than the numbering. The Department's current page describes elevator and conveyance device inspection as an annual required reporting program, which is the requirement the audit was measuring. The fee range belongs to the audit's own period and is not stated here as current.

The Department's page cites no section numbers of its own. It cites a Code Memorandum titled Firefighters' Emergency Operation – Existing Elevators, and records that the installation deadline for firefighters' emergency operation systems in existing elevators was January 1, 2017. That date is a useful marker in an older building's record: it separates devices that should carry the retrofit from a period when they did not have to.

The record-keeping around the inspection

The audit also examined whether inspections that did occur were recorded and billed, and the answers distinguish the two routes again.

  • Of 89 sampled Department inspections, 16 — 18.0 percent — had no fee record, with estimated unbilled revenue of $50,200 and a 90 percent confidence range of $31,235 to $69,165.
  • Certification program fee records were created correctly in all 159 sampled cases.
  • A paper backlog of 1,004 records worth $186,155 had not been entered into the system, and 735 of them — 73.5 percent — were more than 30 days old.

A paper backlog is the relevant part for a reader. It means that for a period, an inspection could have been performed and not yet exist in the electronic record, so absence of an entry at a given moment was not proof of absence of an inspection. That was the state of the system as the auditors found it in January 2014; whether it persists is not something any later published source establishes.

One further gap is worth stating because it is routinely assumed away. The auditors examined the Department's sampling of certification filings and found it not statistically valid, so the program could not be assessed overall. The report states no audit rate, sample size or percentage of certification inspections audited — which means no audit rate for Chicago's private elevator inspection program can be cited from it, and none should be estimated. See the Department's required reporting page for the program as it is described today.

Reading an elevator record on a specific building

Three questions get a reader most of the way.

Which route is this building on? A certification filing and a City inspection have different reliability histories and different failure modes. The filing tells you a licensed company was engaged, attended and filed. The City inspection tells you the building official attended. In 2013 the first happened far more often than the second.

Is the sequence annual? Because the clock, not a request, generates this record, missing years are informative. A device with filings in consecutive years and then a gap is showing something that a permit history — where gaps are ordinary — never shows.

Does this building have a device at all? The requirement attaches to the conveyance device. For the large share of Chicago's residential stock with no elevator, there is no record to find and the absence carries no inference whatsoever. That is the same threshold problem that runs through every recurring inspection program in the city: the regime is built around larger buildings, and for small ones the recurring record simply does not exist.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who inspects elevators in Chicago?

Either the Department of Buildings or, under the Annual Inspection Certification program, a state-licensed private inspection company engaged by the building owner, which files results electronically with the Department. The Department's own page on the program describes the inspections as performed by private licensed companies and does not mention City inspectors.

Is a private elevator inspection worth less than a City one?

The only published measurement says the opposite about completion. The Inspector General's 2014 audit of calendar year 2013 found 88.5 percent completion under the certification program and 19.1 percent on the City-staffed route. The private filing is an attestation by a licensed professional rather than a City finding, but the City finding frequently was not made at all.

How often are Chicago elevators inspected?

Annually, as a required reporting program. The 2014 audit cites a pre-recodification Title 13 section for the requirement; because Chicago renumbered its construction codes in 2019 and 2020, the current section number could not be verified and is not stated here. The annual interval itself appears in the Department's current description of the program.

What does an open elevator violation mean?

Less than it appears to. Of 20,104 elevator violations recorded from January 2006, only 37.9 percent had received a follow-up inspection as of March 2014, and 62.1 percent were still open. A file may be open because nobody returned to close it. Where violations were resolved, the median time was 173 days against a 60-day departmental standard.

Are the 2014 audit figures still accurate?

They are not current. The audit was published in October 2014 and reports on 2013, and no later elevator audit was located. Whether completion rates have changed since is unverified. The figures establish how the two routes behaved under measurement, which is why they are worth knowing, not what they are doing this year.